I Wanna Be The Forums!

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Gaiden 1.2 patch released. Click here to download!

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4

Author Topic: double jump on "game maker"  (Read 49254 times)

Storyyeller

  • The Guy
  • *****
  • Posts: 1297
    • View Profile
Re: double jump on "game maker"
« Reply #30 on: January 15, 2010, 09:35:39 pm »

Yeah, you can code everything yourself like I'm doing, and end up with the slowest development of any fangame ever.

(I've been working on it since October and there's still only one short path finished. But it's an awesome path.)
Logged

Neko Desu

  • The Guy
  • *****
  • Posts: 1898
    • View Profile
Re: double jump on "game maker"
« Reply #31 on: January 15, 2010, 09:37:04 pm »

Yeah, you can code everything yourself like I'm doing, and end up with the slowest development of any fangame ever.

(I've been working on it since October and there's still only one short path finished. But it's an awesome path.)

You're using C++?
Logged

Storyyeller

  • The Guy
  • *****
  • Posts: 1297
    • View Profile
Re: double jump on "game maker"
« Reply #32 on: January 15, 2010, 10:21:48 pm »

Yes
Logged

JCM

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
  • The newfags get no love :(
    • View Profile
Re: double jump on "game maker"
« Reply #33 on: January 18, 2010, 08:48:20 pm »

Holy crap. GM makes you go through WAY too much just to do a simple double-jump. You all should give MMF2 a try.
Except not everyone has the money.
Logged

Storyyeller

  • The Guy
  • *****
  • Posts: 1297
    • View Profile
Re: double jump on "game maker"
« Reply #34 on: January 18, 2010, 09:26:01 pm »

I think someone posted an illegal torrent here. Although if it was *Lionheart*, he's probably gone by now.
Logged

Neko Desu

  • The Guy
  • *****
  • Posts: 1898
    • View Profile
Re: double jump on "game maker"
« Reply #35 on: January 19, 2010, 09:49:23 pm »

Holy crap. GM makes you go through WAY too much just to do a simple double-jump. You all should give MMF2 a try.
Except not everyone has the money.

Last Thursday, I found a narrow bay of water that was full of pirates.
Logged

.Trence Vaegener.

  • Guest
Re: double jump on "game maker"
« Reply #36 on: January 19, 2010, 11:52:26 pm »

Or you could all be men and learn to code
WELL I am using MMF2 for 2D gamez, but using BLENDER for 3D gamez, code that.

Btw The Mark i know, it was awesome.....Everybody Observe the bay of Pirates!!!
« Last Edit: January 19, 2010, 11:54:17 pm by .Trence Vaegener. »
Logged

JCM

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
  • The newfags get no love :(
    • View Profile
Re: double jump on "game maker"
« Reply #37 on: January 20, 2010, 09:30:04 pm »

Holy crap. GM makes you go through WAY too much just to do a simple double-jump. You all should give MMF2 a try.
Except not everyone has the money.

Last Thursday, I found a narrow bay of water that was full of pirates.

That site is blocked at my school.
Logged

Storyyeller

  • The Guy
  • *****
  • Posts: 1297
    • View Profile
Re: double jump on "game maker"
« Reply #38 on: January 20, 2010, 09:30:56 pm »

Why not download it at home?
Logged

giuocob

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
    • View Profile
Re: double jump on "game maker"
« Reply #39 on: March 01, 2010, 05:00:05 pm »

Just out of curiosity, what do you have to do to make a double jump in MMF2?
Logged

.Trence Vaegener.

  • Guest
Re: double jump on "game maker"
« Reply #40 on: March 01, 2010, 08:49:56 pm »

Just out of curiosity, what do you have to do to make a double jump in MMF2?
Well there's about a few lines of code involved, and that's it. I think I had.....6 events using fastloops, and 4 using PMO. It's easier to understand, look into that source file I posted for custom platform movement in my help thread. MMF2's more solid, it's really designed for platformers or anything 2D. I've seen impressive 3D games though.
Logged

Jeed-Unit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • パーティーはいつですか
    • View Profile
    • http://www.youtube.com/user/liljeed
Re: double jump on "game maker"
« Reply #41 on: March 15, 2010, 11:24:34 pm »

Just out of curiosity, what do you have to do to make a double jump in MMF2?
Well there's about a few lines of code involved, and that's it. I think I had.....6 events using fastloops, and 4 using PMO. It's easier to understand, look into that source file I posted for custom platform movement in my help thread. MMF2's more solid, it's really designed for platformers or anything 2D. I've seen impressive 3D games though.

Step:
if !place_free(x,y+1) && vspeed=0 nbJumps=1
Whatever Key press you want:
if nbJumps >0 { vspeed=-8
if place_free(x,y+1) nbJumps -=1}

There, I beat you.

And since I love putting everything in step events:

Code: [Select]
if !place_free(x,y+1) && vspeed=0 nbJumps=1
if keyboard_check(vk_up)
{
 if upPress=false upPress=true
 else
  {
   if nbJumps >0 { vspeed=-8
   if place_free(x,y+1) nbJumps -=1}
   upPress=false
  }
}
Logged
Stop stalking me, I'm not hiding anything!

O o
/¯/___________________________ _ __/
| | http://www.youtube.com/user/liljeed
\_\¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯ ¯ ¯¯\

-DIE Wolf-

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • I wanna HAppy
    • View Profile
Re: double jump on "game maker"
« Reply #42 on: December 03, 2013, 08:32:57 am »

HEy! This shold be for GameMAker 8.0,8.1
Do you know double jump for GAme MAker : Studio ?
Logged
GAME OVER
----------------
PRESS F5 TO TRY AGAIN

Ellipsis

  • Ellipsis
  • The Guy
  • *****
  • Posts: 1907
    • View Profile
    • If Not Equal Limited
Re: double jump on "game maker"
« Reply #43 on: December 05, 2013, 08:46:14 am »

DIE Wolf, I think that the same thing should work. Does it not work on Game Maker: studio for you?
Logged

-DIE Wolf-

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • I wanna HAppy
    • View Profile
Re: double jump on "game maker"
« Reply #44 on: December 07, 2013, 07:09:53 am »

Ellipsis, im not tested yet ! Im afraid it not work.
Logged
GAME OVER
----------------
PRESS F5 TO TRY AGAIN
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4