I Wanna Be The Forums!

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Gaiden 1.2 patch released. Click here to download!

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: How can i make a boss  (Read 8383 times)

kaelhead

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
How can i make a boss
« on: December 30, 2009, 06:55:43 am »

i spanish little english sry:
my question is how can i make a boss i have sprites and more and next??? step? ???
Logged

zapuppy

  • Zapuppy
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 333
  • AND TOMORROW SPRING IS HERE
    • View Profile
Re: How can i make a boss
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2009, 10:43:07 am »

look up a tutorial.
Logged

Jksnxia

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 245
  • I make short films too :3 Check out my youtube
    • View Profile
    • me youtube
Re: How can i make a boss
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2010, 04:46:47 pm »

Are you using Game Maker?
Logged
Creativity and optimisim

Shikamaru

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • wazzup?
    • View Profile
Re: How can i make a boss
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2010, 04:11:33 am »

i want to know it too, and yes i use the game maker. need help please~
Logged

Jeed-Unit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • パーティーはいつですか
    • View Profile
    • http://www.youtube.com/user/liljeed
Re: How can i make a boss
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2010, 11:50:12 am »

Read these tutorials to understand what you are using first. http://www.yoyogames.com/make/tutorials Then come back with a more specific question.
Logged
Stop stalking me, I'm not hiding anything!

O o
/¯/___________________________ _ __/
| | http://www.youtube.com/user/liljeed
\_\¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯ ¯ ¯¯\

Shikamaru

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • wazzup?
    • View Profile
Re: How can i make a boss
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2010, 03:40:55 pm »

a boss that jumps around the room and shoot @ the hero and have 60 hp.
thats my specific question :D.
Logged

Jksnxia

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 245
  • I make short films too :3 Check out my youtube
    • View Profile
    • me youtube
Re: How can i make a boss
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2010, 05:47:54 pm »

in the Create event, set "bosshealth=60" or any variable name like "applehealth=60"

then set if collision with bullet, "bosshealth-=1"

for jumping around you can use codes or path, which one do you wanna use? codes are more precise but paths are easier

to shoot, I suggest using Alarms, in the create event, set like Alarm[0]=100
then add an Alarm 0 event, put in whatever attacks you want, then the boss will attack at the count of 100
Logged
Creativity and optimisim

Shikamaru

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • wazzup?
    • View Profile
Re: How can i make a boss
« Reply #7 on: March 20, 2010, 06:10:18 am »

thank you :D

i have now  alarm  0 > 100
how can i make him to shoot @ object @ the player?


is that right?

screenshot  http://img214.imageshack.us/img214/4707/screenag.jpg


and if i chance the room to the bossroom  i get this error

Quote
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Other Event: Intersect Boundary
for object player:

Unexisting room number: 0


this is my roomchanger script

Code: [Select]
if (onCollide) {
    room_goto(boss1);
    with (player) instance_destroy();
}
« Last Edit: March 20, 2010, 07:36:20 am by Shikamaru »
Logged

Jksnxia

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 245
  • I make short films too :3 Check out my youtube
    • View Profile
    • me youtube
Re: How can i make a boss
« Reply #8 on: March 20, 2010, 05:21:13 pm »

i have now  alarm  0 > 100

it should be "alarm [ 0 ] = 100", I'm not sure about ">100"

how can i make him to shoot @ object @ the player?

is that right?

screenshot  http://img214.imageshack.us/img214/4707/screenag.jpg

I use codes, I don't use drag and drop often, so I'm not sure, here's what I do in codes:
instance_create(x,y,threat)

and for the object "threat", set it to "move_towards_point(player.x,player.y,5)" the 5 is the speed. You can use drag and drop for this too, you should be able to figure out which ones with these codes.

and if i chance the room to the bossroom  i get this error

Quote
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Other Event: Intersect Boundary
for object player:

Unexisting room number: 0


this is my roomchanger script

Code: [Select]
if (onCollide) {
    room_goto(boss1);
    with (player) instance_destroy();
}

well, first check to see you have "playerStart" object in the room. Then check if you have anything else that has the same name as the room name, like if you have object "boss1" AND room "boss1", you need to change one of those.
« Last Edit: March 20, 2010, 05:23:04 pm by Jksnxia »
Logged
Creativity and optimisim

Shikamaru

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • wazzup?
    • View Profile
Re: How can i make a boss
« Reply #9 on: March 20, 2010, 07:08:07 pm »

i have named the room now to bossroom1   and the same error
the playerstart is there too.

here a screenshot from the room.

http://img532.imageshack.us/img532/6185/bossroom1.jpg
Logged

Jeed-Unit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • パーティーはいつですか
    • View Profile
    • http://www.youtube.com/user/liljeed
Re: How can i make a boss
« Reply #10 on: March 20, 2010, 08:05:01 pm »

hmm, in the top bar, go in scripts->check resource names. It will tell you if there is something wrong. But for me, unless you forgot to change your code so it now reads room_goto(bossroom1), I have no idea with the information you gave us :/
Logged
Stop stalking me, I'm not hiding anything!

O o
/¯/___________________________ _ __/
| | http://www.youtube.com/user/liljeed
\_\¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯ ¯ ¯¯\

Jksnxia

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 245
  • I make short films too :3 Check out my youtube
    • View Profile
    • me youtube
Re: How can i make a boss
« Reply #11 on: March 20, 2010, 09:32:17 pm »

did you change any codes in the object "player"? if so, show us the codes. Also, just want to point out, tijit said in the IWBTE documentation, the room is x=800 y=608   and I don't think you need the world object in the room, I don't have it in any of my rooms and it works fine, but I may be wrong.

one more thing, do you start at the bossroom or do you go through a teleport to get there?
Logged
Creativity and optimisim

Shikamaru

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • wazzup?
    • View Profile
Re: How can i make a boss
« Reply #12 on: March 21, 2010, 04:33:34 am »

Player Code Intersect Boundary:

Code: [Select]
//ROOM TRANSITIONS
//read the documentation
changeRoom=outsideRoom();

if (changeRoom) {
    roomTo=(instance_position(x,y,roomChanger).roomTo);
   
    if (!place_meeting(x,y,roomChanger)) killPlayer();
    else {
        room_goto(roomTo);
    }
    if (x<0) {x+=800;y-=vspeed;changeRoom=1;}
    else if (x>800) {x-=800;y-=vspeed;changeRoom=1;}
    else if (y<0) {y+=600;x=xprevious;changeRoom=1;}
    else if (y>600) {y-=600;x=xprevious;changeRoom=1;}
}


Screenshot from the teleporter to the boss room:

http://img406.imageshack.us/img406/1496/area1.jpg

Logged

Jksnxia

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 245
  • I make short films too :3 Check out my youtube
    • View Profile
    • me youtube
Re: How can i make a boss
« Reply #13 on: March 21, 2010, 12:10:44 pm »

do you have any codes in "roomChanger"? you need a "room_goto(bossroom1)" or a creation code for the object in the room, and when you type in the room name, it should appear in another color other than black
Logged
Creativity and optimisim

Shikamaru

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • wazzup?
    • View Profile
Re: How can i make a boss
« Reply #14 on: March 21, 2010, 04:41:09 pm »

look @ the screenshot there is the code~.

Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3